The Galway Indoor Track & Field

The County Galway Indoor Track and Field Championships were held in Athlone IT on Saturday 18th January.  Loughrea had the largest number of athletes taking part in the 45 year history of the club. 

In the individual 60m sprint there were bronze medals for Daniel Keane (u10), Chloe Casey (u13) and Emma Reynolds (u15). Daniel Keane also went on to win bronze in the 400m (u10) and  Clara Doran won silver in the 60m hurdles (u16/17).

David Brown had a very impressive win in the u16/17, 800m while Callum Reddington won silver in the 1000m walk.

In the Long Jump, gold medals were won by  Leon Connaire (u11)(3m.32), Aoibhin Farrell (u12)(3m.69) and Emma Reynolds (u15)(4m.44), silver went to Caoimhe Farrell (u10)(3m.03), Pearl Finnerty (u14)(3m.89), Stephen Doran (u15)(4m.35), Brendan Lynch (u16/17)(4m.96) and the bronze was won by Anja Quinn (u16/17)(3m.69)

In the shot putt Alisha Noone won gold (u12) (5m.16) with her team mate Susie Motk (4m.49) winning bronze. Chloe Casey also won gold (u13)(8m.39) along with Siobhan McGrath (u15)(7m.80) and Jack Shiels (16/17) (6m.78).

Anja Quinn won silver in the High Jump (u16/17) with a jump of 1m.40.

Gold medal relay winners on the day were the girls u15,  4x200m of Arlene Earls, Emma Reynolds, Siobhan McGrath and Ericia Leslie, silver went to the u12, 4x 100m of Aoibhin Farrell, Emma Stewart, Roisin Kelly and Denise Deely, bronze medals went the u10, 4 x 100m of Eoin Lebranche, Cathal Duffy, Daniel Keane and Evan Deely and u16/17, 4x200m of David Brown, Shane Donnellan, Brendan Lynch and Jack Sheil.